Here another month has passed. I really don't mean for there to be such a time gap between posts, but so it goes.
Here's what's been happening: Tristan is spending his first night in his top bunk tonight. We went out and got him some dino sheets for the occasion, and he's so very excited. He got upset, though, after a little while, so I went up to check on him, and in the most despairing voice he could possibly muster, he told me, "Papa, Dude is flipping a nut!" What a nut. He's quite something. He and Lucy now sit next to each other at the table, which they both love. Who would've thought that something so simple would mean so much to them?
Here's what's been happening: Tristan is spending his first night in his top bunk tonight. We went out and got him some dino sheets for the occasion, and he's so very excited. He got upset, though, after a little while, so I went up to check on him, and in the most despairing voice he could possibly muster, he told me, "Papa, Dude is flipping a nut!" What a nut. He's quite something. He and Lucy now sit next to each other at the table, which they both love. Who would've thought that something so simple would mean so much to them?
Lucy
is nodding her head "yes" now, and she's not shy to show off that
ability. She's also becoming quite the little girl. Last night, I
watched 'My Neighbor Totoro' (which I'll gladly recommend), and the main
characters are two little girls (they're sisters). The younger of the
two, Mei, is Lucy. She even looked similar. Mei is four, however, but
it was almost like watching a little preview of our Missy Miss's future
self. She'd chase her big sister around and copy what she was doing and
always yell, "wait for me!" It's exactly like Lu now; if Lu could
talk, I think the words, "wait for me" would be generously thrown
around.
Julie's
been reading and reading and reading. Amy sent her some books (3 of
them... it's a trilogy), and Julie dove right in. She's reminding me of
summers when I was younger, and how I'd just stay up forever to finish a
book before I went to sleep. I may do that again sometime soon, but I
haven't been pulled by a book in a while, really.
I'm
now more seriously studying for the qualifier. August 20 and 21. I
discovered today that I may not have as much difficulty with the quantum
section as I had been expecting because the research I've been doing is
in the more difficult area of the quantum that I need to know for the
qualifier. Translation: what luck! The kids seem to really benefit
from a more regular schedule with me heading out "to work" for a few
hours per day. And the library's nice and cool in this hottest of
summers. Also, it doesn't smell like smoke.
Next
item: we're moving. We had gotten new neighbors, and they're the
kindliest old couple, but they smoke and smoke and smoke. It's awful.
And because they're guaranteed never to see 150 again, they're home all
the time, which means they're always home smoking. It's seeping through
our walls. We wake up with headaches, we're more irritable, heaven
knows what it's doing to the kids... It's hard to realize that people
still smoke. I kind of thought that time had come and gone. It's just
so selfish. Well, consequently, we're moving to a place that's quite a
bit bigger than the place we're in, and it's almost exactly the same
price. The place where we currently live is actually going up in price,
too, so this new place, come November, will effectively cost less.
Until November, it'll be something like $10 more per month, so that's
not going to break the bank. I'm very excited to get out of here. As a
kid, I moved around a lot. I guess that kind of spilled over
into my adult life as well. I know that the thought of moving can be
stressful and all, but there's a part of me that always finds it
exciting. And when staying in your own place gives you headaches from
your selfish smoker neighbors, the part that finds it exciting is pretty
vocal.
We
took the kids to the water park again the other day. Man, did they
enjoy that! Tristan was so excited even on the way there, that he was literally salivating. Unbelievable.
We've
been married for four years! Where did those four years go? I don't
know. But it's been a wonderful four years. For our anniversary, we
went out for breakfast at a place in Kalamazoo called the Crow's Nest.
The food was great, and the prices weren't bad at all. Quite the good
find, honestly. I can't believe it's been four years. I can't believe
Tristan's almost 3. Lucy is pretty close to the right age, but it's
starting to slip past, too. They're so much fun, and they just absorb everything.
It definitely makes you think through everything you say and do before
saying or doing it. I mean, I don't think I say/do inappropriate
things, generally, but it's just one small slip of a joke/song/movie
reference, and they've picked it up. We started watching a show called
"Suits," which is about a guy who never went to law school, but through a
set of circumstances, ended up a lawyer (watch the pilot if you're
curious; it's a pretty fun show), and one of the firm's named partners
is played by Gina Torres (Zoe from Firefly, of course). Now, in
"Castle," there are tons of little off-hand Firefly references, so of
course, I'm waiting for them in "Suits" as well. Well, whenever Gina
Torres says something that starts with, "what does that...", I always
(in my head) fill in the rest of the line with, "...make us?". In
Firefly, the answer was, "big damn heroes, sir," so in "Suits," the
answer should be, "big damn lawyers, sir." And it's a joke Julie and I
make, but it spills over from time to time. The other day, Tristan and
Lucy elected to go poop at the same time-- one on each potty (it was
much more adorable than it sounds), and the first line to pop into my
head was, "big damn poopers, sir." Sponges, though, those two are.
Full circle back to Tristan's "I'm flipping a nut."
I think it's time for me to get back to coding, but I also think I'll write again before another month goes by. I feel like I've said that before...
I think it's time for me to get back to coding, but I also think I'll write again before another month goes by. I feel like I've said that before...